Australia Awards Scholarships (Masters Level)

Would you like to study in Australia?

Since 1986, nationals from Zambia have been sponsored by the Australian Government through the Australia Awards to Study in Australia.

ZAMBIA: Desired Applicant Profile (DAP) – Masters Awards 2016

Zambia Priority Fields

  • Agriculture/Food Security
  • Education
  • Health
  • Natural Resource Management
  • Public Policy
  • Water and Sanitation

Target Group

  • You are a national of Zambia
  • You are an early or mid-career professional working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • You wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • You cannot study a Masters of Business Administration.
  • You have a clear vision for how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.


  • You must be at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
  • You must have at least three (3) years’ relevant post graduate work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
  • Public sector applicants must adhere to Government of Zambia guidelines on scholarship applications. Applicants must upload a copy of their Zambian National Registration Number with the supporting documents required from all applicants. Public Sector Applicants that are not supported by the Government of Zambia or that have not adhered to the correct processes may be considered non-compliant.
  • You possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognised Institution of at least 4 years in length with a minimum mark of 2nd Class Lower Division (2.2) or equivalent.
  • You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award
  • You must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships – refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships policy handbook.

Further Information

The closing date for applications is 12 December 2014.

For further information on Australian Government policies, please visit: